Reviews - TGR RENASCENT BOOKS





T.G.R. RENASCENT BOOKS
Beautiful Publications
from a
Specialist Publisher
Go to content

Reviews and Testimonials

Unsolicited Testimonials
from our
Satisfied Readers

The strength of those who have gone before should not be gleaned solely from histories or random quotations.
True inspiration and power lie in the original works.

Reviews of all our 16th and 17th century books

Professor Tony Mann (University of Greenwich)
 I think what you are doing is wonderful. If I had read about it before seeing the books, I would have wondered whether I wouldn't rather have photographic
copies of the original editions, but actually handling these made me really want them. I think what is apparent, and what makes them so desirable,
is the obvious care taken over the work: if these were hastily or sloppily done they wouldn't appeal at all,
but they are so clearly a labour of love that I think everyone will want them.

John Denniss (Historian and collector of Early English arithmetic texts)
The books arrived yesterday. I think they are amazing. The quality of the reproduction is perfect and they are very nicely bound.
Congratulations and keep up the good work.

Gareth Roberts (Emeritus Professor, Bangor University)
The parcel of your publications arrived today — they look absolutely fantastic. I'm sure that the introductory notes will also prove to be very useful to readers.

The Grounde of Artes (Robert Recorde)

Richard Simpson (Mathematics Teacher)
I have received the facsimile copy of Robert Recorde's The Grounde of Artes — and very wonderful it is too. An excellent and well made reproduction that
has the enormous merit of not trying to look falsely antique and yet conveys perfectly the text of the original with great clarity.

Arthur C. Howard (Amazon Reviewer)
The Grounde of Artes is an amazing facsimile of one of the earliest arithmetic texts in English. Until now, it has only been available to researchers and
the curious student in the form of microfilm copies in major university libraries. The reader also, thanks to Gordon Roberts, learns a great
deal about early printing methods, as well as the life of the polymath Robert Recorde. Amazing!

Michael McConnell on April 30, 2015 (Amazon Reviewer)
The book is great--for a certain kind of reader. I found this book to be amazing. I must admit, the sixteenth century typesetting took a little getting used to,
but the material is wonderful. Personally, I have training in reading old typography and old languages, so it was easy for me. As a student of the history
of the English language, a student of mathematics history and a mathematics educator, I found a wealth of valuable information and a fun read.

Railway Signalling in the Mechanical Era (Leonard P. Lewis)

Eric (London) on 3 May 2015 (Amazon Reviewer)
I'm really pleased with this book. A comprehensive and explicit work covering a wide range of railway mechanical signalling. I was particularly
interested in signalling schemes, and this book provides an excellent overview. What you get is what is written on the cover.
A superb book if you wish to learn about railway signalling.

Anthony W Brown on 14 Sep 2015 (Amazon Reviewer)
This is an early twentieth century book now produced in twenty first century style. Plans, diagrams and drawings are easy to read
and colour enhances them. This is a very informative book.

Dave on 19 Feb 2015 (Amazon Reviewer)
Excellent book giving good coverage of the subject.

Rob Smart on 15 October 2015 (Amazon Reviewer)
Great historical signalling and track work reference. Probably the best reference on this subject that I have seen. Because it's a reprint
rather than a new work, then the historical accuracy can be taken as good. The diagrams have been revised to great effect.

Anonymous Amazon Customer on May 8, 2016
All About Traditional British Railway Mechanical Signals and Associated Equipment.
A very detailed and informative book - interesting for the railway signalling enthusiast particularly in regard to mechanical signals.
A must for anyone involved with signals on a preserved or heritage railway.

The Whetstone of Witte (Robert Recorde)

Arthur C. Howard (Amazon Reviewer)
The Whetstone of Witte is an amazing facsimile of one of the earliest arithmetic treasures of the English speaking world. Until now, it has only been
available to researchers and the curious student in the form of microfilm copies in major university libraries. The reader also, thanks to
Gordon Roberts, learns a great deal about early printing methods, as well as the life of the polymath Robert Recorde. Amazing!

A Description of the Admirable Table of Logarithmes (John Napier)

David Walker (eMail to the Publisher)
I would just like to compliment you on the superb facsimile of Napier’s A Description of the Admirable Table of Logarithmes translated by Wright
(bought in paperback from Amazon). It is a fitting tribute to the 400th Anniversary in 2014 of their first publication in Latin in 1614.
Some facsimiles of old books by other publishers are poor but this shows what can be done with care and attention.

Robert Recorde - Tudor Scholar and Mathematician (Gordon Roberts)

Jack Williams (Author of Robert Recorde - Tudor Polymath, Expositor and Practitioner of Computing)
(This) book gave me a delightful read. I just read it from cover to cover ... the flow of the story was great, much aided by the way in which (it) introduced
context. I was very taken with (the) reference to what made up a printed book. Not too many readers would have known beforehand that most
books were bought and sold unbound, which affected both price and durability.

Gareth Roberts (Editor of Robert Recorde - The Life and Times of a Tudor Mathematician)
(This book) is a veritable tour de force and a real pleasure to read. (The) commitment to putting the ‘Recorde’ straight
is quite remarkable ... ensuring its accessibility to a wide audience.

Patrick on 29 July 2018 (Amazon customer)
An interesting read about a man who deserves to be more widely known. (The book) not only gives an insight into the man but the times in which
he lived. Very readable and I recommend it even to those who are put off by the words scientist and mathematician.
The author has constructed an interesting narrative that makes you want to read on.

ABOUT
TGR Renascent Books is a small publishing house founded in 2009 by
Gordon and Elizabeth Roberts

Website Copyright © TGR Renascent Books 2019
renascent - adj. Coming into
being again
from Latin renasci, to be
born again (OED)
Unique facsimiles of books on Astronomy, Medicine and Mathematics
originally published in the 16th century
(the Tudor period)
and the 17th century
(the Stuart period)
Creative reprints of books on
The Electric Telegraph
originally published in the 19th century
(the Victorian period)
Imaginative reprints of books on
Railway Signalling in the Steam Era
(originally published in the 20th century)

http://www.renascentbooks.co.uk
Created by Gordon Roberts
with WebSite X5 Evolution software
v. 02 - 09 Mar 2019
T.G.R. RENASCENT BOOKS
Back to content